Home Sports 2017 20-AA All-District Softball Team Released

2017 20-AA All-District Softball Team Released


By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – Following the conclusion of the 2017 UIL State Softball Tournament, the 2017 20-AA All-District Team was rele


ased with the post season superlatives showing a strong presence from the Grapeland Sandiettes.

Grapeland Sandiettes Cadie Belle Currie and Taylar Mullen were selected as Co-Most Valuable Players of District 20 AA.

The Offensive MVP was Slocum Lady Mustang Jessi Ives.

The Defensive MVP was Lovelady Lady Lion Sydney Price.

Freshman Madi McCombs from the Grapeland Sandiettes was selected as the District 20-AA Newcomer of the Year.

Ives Photo By Stephanie Limerick

The Co-Queens of the Circle were Neches Lady Tiger Josey Sumpter and Latexo Lady Tiger Gracie Zalesky.

The Co-Utility Players of the Year were Grapeland Sandiette Hailee Sheridan and Kennard Lady Tiger Dariann Pang.

The First Team All-District pitchers were Slocum Lady Mustangs Taylor Clark and Jalyn Fletcher.

The First Team All-District catchers were Slocum Lady Mustang Briley Evers and Centerville Lady Tiger McKinzie Hamilton.

The First Team All-District infielders were: Grapeland Sandiettes Hannah Chipman and Madison Holbrook; Centerville Lady Tiger Christina Ortega; Lovelady Lady Lions Allison Hay and Malanta Wiley; and Slocum Lady Mustangs MaKayla Bickerstaff and Courtney January.


The First Team All-District outfielders were: Grapeland Sandiettes KeKe Harris and Diamond Maines-Dunn; Kennard Lady Tiger Katie Minter; Latexo Lady Tiger Maddie Catoe; Lovelady Lady Lions Kaiden LeMaire and Tea Soberano; Neches Lady Tiger McKenzie Hudson; and Slocum Lady Mustangs Shelby Bowman and Laney Lasiter.

The Second Team All-District pitchers were Centerville Lady Tiger Charmayne Hubbell and Lovelady Lady Lion Makayla White.

The Second Team All-District catcher was Neches Lady Tiger Cora Olivares.


The Second Team All-District infielders were: Centerville Lady Tiger Sarah Stutzman; Kennard Lady Tiger Whitney Cole; Latexo Lady Tigers Dianna Maza and Raelyn Walker; Lovelady Lady Lion Sydney Shoemaker; Neches Lady Tigers Hannah Lovelady and Jayci Mannix; and Slocum Lady Mustang Kara Cumby.

The Second Team All-District outfielders were: Grapeland Sandiettes Reagan Bishop and Haylee Reed; Lovelady Lady Lion Heather Elliott; Neches Lady Tigers Gracie Carroll and Hannah Chariker; and Slocum Lady Mustang Christy Dunnam.

The Honorable Mention All-District selections were: Centerville Lady Tigers – Sarah King and Callie Parker; Kennard Lady Tigers – Ashley Roy and Sarah Alfred; Latexo Lady Tiger – Alexa Knight; Lovelady Lady Lions – Amber Mikes and Sarah Thompson; and Neches Lady Tigers – Jacqueline Aguilera; Sheridan Andrews; Ashley Barnes; Jessica Bennett; Carli Cleveland; Madi Whitfield and Ashleigh Wilbanks.


Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.