Home Sports District 21-A and AA All District Volleyball Teams Announced

District 21-A and AA All District Volleyball Teams Announced


Grapeland Sandiette Hannah Chipman Named MVP Hitter

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – With the conclusion of the 2018 UIL State Volleyball Tournament, the District 21-2A and 21-A All-District Teams were announced. All-District selections are not released until all teams in a district have concluded their season.

In volleyball, Class A teams and Class 2A teams are lumped together during district play. When the playoffs start, the Class A teams have their own state tournament while the Class 2A teams have their own tournament as well.

In District 21-AA, there were eight teams combined. They were: Cayuga; Grapeland; Kerens; Latexo; Cross Roads; Neches; Oakwood; and Trinidad.

When the playoffs began Cayuga, Grapeland, Kerens, Latexo and Cross Roads stayed at the Class 2A level while Neches, Oakwood and Trinidad played in the Class A tournament.

Even though the Neches Lady Tigers technically won District 21-AA, Neches was sent to Class A and the Cayuga Lady Wildcats were crowned as district champions at the 2A level.

Neches took full advantage of the Class A competition as they rolled to a state championship. Cayuga, meanwhile, advanced to the Regional Quarterfinals.

As a result, the postseason accolades were not released until late last month.

The All-District 21-2A Superlatives were awarded to the following players:

MVP: Peyton Sanders – Cayuga Lady Wildcats

MVP Setter: Sami Winkel – Cayuga Lady Wildcats

MVP Server: Hannah Latham – Cross Roads Lady Bobcats

MVP Blocker: Madi Poland – Cayuga Lady Wildcats

MVP Hitter: Hannah Chipman – Grapeland Sandiettes

MVP Defensive Player: Briley Shaw – Cayuga Lady Wildcats

New Comer of the Year: Alexius McAdams – Kerens Lady Bobcats

Coach of the Year: Anthony DeCello – Grapeland Sandiettes

First Team All-District 21-2A honors went to:

Cayuga – Megan Kelly and Hannah Bryant

Cross Roads – Bailee Stanfield and Danaleigh Stiles

Grapeland – Tatiyanna Bowie and Kenya Woods

Kerens – Mya Lincoln; Olivia Franson; and Kaylee Reed

Latexo – Jamie Welch and Diana Maza

Second Team All-District 21-2A honors went to:

Cayuga – Julia Griffey and Alexis Gray

Cross Roads – Natalie Fulton

Grapeland – Cheney Boyd

Kerens – Reece Wright; Triniti Hataway; and Gracie Harrell

Latexo – Bailey Ingle and Harli Brent

Honorable Mention All-District 21-2A honors went to:

Cayuga – Jamie Ward

Cross Roads – Harley Bennett and Jansyn Hughes

Kerens – Emilee Burleson, Kenadee Lynch and Madison Parks

Latexo – Destiny Filer

Academic All-District 21-2A

Cayuga – Julia Griffey; Megan Kelley; Briley Shaw; Hannah Bryant; Jamie Ward; Sami Winkel; Peyton Sanders; and Madi Poland

Cross Roads – Harley Bennett; Natalie Fulton; Jansyn Hughes; Hannah Latham; Gracyn Cunningham; Bailee Stanfield; and Danaleigh Stiles.

Kerens – Mya Lincoln; Myliah Lincoln; Triniti Hataway; Gracie Harrell; Olivia Franson; Kaylee Reed; Madison Parks; Emilee Burleson and Kenadee Lynch


The All-District 21-A Superlatives were awarded to the following players:

MVP: Kacie Kimbrough – Neches Lady Tigers

MVP Setter: Emily Hill – Neches Lady Tigers

MVP Server: Makenzie Hudson – Neches Lady Tigers

MVP Blocker: Jaylinn Womack – Trinidad Lady Trojans

MVP Hitter: Lexi Rogers – Neches Lady Tigers

MVP Defensive Player: Nayeli Quistian –               Neches Lady Tigers

Newcomer of the Year: Kourtney Mannix – Neches Lady Tigers

Coach of the Year: Morgan Roberson – Neches Lady Tigers

First Team All-District 21-A honors went to:

Neches: Raegan Hill and Reagan Gray

Oakwood: Neci Keefer and Rachell Rodgers

Trinidad: Tori Moody; Cassie Patch; Hayley Ned; and Eryn Airheart

Second Team All-District 21-A honors went to:

Oakwood: Shaylin Keefer and Kaeley Bean

Trinidad: Jazmyn Burden-Engle and Ashlee Stevenson

Honorable Mention All-District 21-A honors went to:

Neches – Mallory Main and Morgan Scruggs

Oakwood – Bobbye Freeman; Essence Watkins and Avery Hardin

Trinidad – Lana Stovall and Samantha Sims

Academic All-District 21-2A

Oakwood – Janet Velasqeuz; Melanie Barnett; Bobbye Freeman; Railey Harden; Kaeley Bean; Kelsey Burch; Essence Watkins and Lillie Flores

Trinidad – Cassie Patch; Jazmyn Burden-Engle; Tori Moody; Hayley Ned; Jaylinn Womack; Eryn Airheart; Rebecca Ellison; Ashlee Stevenson; Samantha Sims; Kellie Airheart; and Trayli Smith


Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.