Home Sports District 18-4A All-District Baseball Team Announced

District 18-4A All-District Baseball Team Announced


By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – As the 2017-2018 UIL baseball season draws to a close, several of the area All-District teams are beginning to filter in.

One of the districts which has released the postseason awards is District 18-4A which is comprised of: the Athens Hornets; the Fairfield Eagles; the Madisonville Mustangs; the Mexia Black Cats and the Palestine Wildcats.

At the superlative level, Madisonville Mustangs Matt Rudis and Zach Poe shared honors as they were named as Co-Most Valuable Players.

The Offensive MVP was Ben Phillips from Madisonville while the Defensive MVP was Chris Perez from Palestine.

The Pitcher of the Year was Luis Valdez from Athens.

The Newcomer of the Year was Chris Garcia from Athens.

The Coach of the Year was Keith Sitton from Madisonville.

The First Team All-District selections were:

Catcher – Noah Sikes from Athens.

First Base – Kris Webb from Athens.

Second Base – Jayden Townsend from Palestine.

Shortstop – Sam Bennett from Madisonville.

Third Base – Brad Rudis from Madisonville.

Outfielders – Corey Shuck from Madisonville; Jaden Proctor from Mexia; Michael Alvarado from Athens; and Avery Archibald from Fairfield.

Pitchers – Bryce Bennett from Madisonville; Kasey Williamson from Madisonville; Zac Klosterman from Mexia; and Parker Giles from Palestine.

Utility Player – Andre Carter from Fairfield.

Designated Hitter – Will Hudson from Madisonville.

The Second Team All-District selections were:

Catcher – Will McBride from Palestine.

First Base – Caleb Harris from Palestine.

Second Base – Kobe Grimes from Athens.

Shortstop – Kobe Kale from Athens.

Third Base – Miller Smith from Fairfield.

Outfielders – Connor Woodard from Athens; Cody Ferguson from Fairfield; Danny Young from Madisonville; Caden LaFontaine from Palestine; and Rusty Stevenson from Palestine.

Pitchers – Dane Allman from Fairfield; Chad Rushing from Fairfield; and J.R. Deichler from Mexia.

Utility Players – Grant Echols from Athens and Nemo Vigil from Palestine.

Designated Hitter – B.J. Sunday from Mexia.

Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.