Home Sports 2018 District 12-2A All District Teams Released

2018 District 12-2A All District Teams Released


Sandies Dominate Superlatives

By Will Johnson

Messenger Reporter

GRAPELAND – With the loss of the Grapeland Sandies to the Mart Panthers in the Regional Semi-Finals on Nov. 30, the postseason All-District honors from District 12-2A were announced.   

The district is comprised of: Burkeville; Colmesneil; Evadale; Grapeland; Lovelady; Sabine Pass (forfeited season); and West Hardin. The top four teams –1) Grapeland 2) Lovelady 3) Evadale and 4) West Hardin – qualified for the playoffs.

West Hardin fell in the Bi-District round. Lovelady defeated Dawson in the Bi-District round but fell to Muenster in Area. Evadale defeated Frost and Clarksville the Muenster Hornets knocked the Rebels out of the playoffs. The Sandies defeated the Hubbard Jaguars by a score of 54-0 in Bi-District and trounced the Detroit Eagles by a final of 60-0 in Area.Unfortunately, the Sandies fell to Mart by a final score of 64-22.     

The 2018 superlative award winners for District 12-2A DII are:

District MVP: Josh Ackley – Sr., #6 Grapeland. Ackley had 111 rushes for 1,096 yards and 17 TDs. He also had 27 receptions for 587 yards and fiveTDs.  Defensively, Ackley had 149 tackles, 17 tackles for loss (TFL), four sacks, two blocked kicks, two passes broken up (PBUs), two forced fumbles (FFs), one fumble recovery, one interception (INT) and one TD.

Co-Offensive MVPs: Rick Frauenberger – #12, Sr., Grapeland and Logan Lowery- #12, Sr., Lovelady. Frauenberger was 170/261 for 3,132 yards passing with 40 TDs and 10 INTs.

Frauenberger’s career statistics include: 662 completions out of 1094 attempts for 10,107 yards and 115 TDs. He ranks second in Class 2A passing yards and 18th in All-Time Texas High School Career Passing Yardage. He is ranked second in Class 2A Career TD Passes with 115 and 20thin All-Time in Texas High School Career TD Passes. His 662 completions rank 28thAll-Time in Texas High School Football while his 1094 passing attempts rank 27thAll-Time in Texas High School Football.

Co-Defensive MVPs: Cooper Sheridan – #9, So. Grapeland and Deontrae Hawkins- #50, Sr., Lovelady. Sheridan recorded 159 tackles, 19 TFL, 10 sacks, two FFs, one INT and a PBU.

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Evan Frazier – #72, Jr., Grapeland

Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Cadarian Wiley – #3, Fr., Grapeland

Coach of the Year: Wayne Mahaffey, Grapeland


Punter of the Year: Jay Thomas-Robinson – #13, Sr., Lovelady

Kicker of the Year: Josh Ackley – #6, Sr., Grapeland

The First Team All-District Offense consisted of:

Grapeland: BJ Lamb – #5, WR, So.; Lane Dreher – #70, OL, Sr.; and Blake Howard – #56, OL, Sr. Lamb had 50 receptions for 927 yards with 12 TDs. He also missed a game due to injury.

Lovelady: Michael Price – #22, WR, Sr.; Jay Thomas-Robinson – #13, WR, Sr.; Timothy Johnson – #4, RB, Sr.; and Carter Murray – #75, OL, So.

Evadale: Will Farr – #3, RB, Jr.

West Hardin: Keaton Castilaw – #3, WR, Jr. and Jake Strahan – #7, QB, Jr.

Colmesneil: Carlos Cuellar – #65, OL, Sr.

Burkeville: Daniel Lowe – #4, WR, Jr.

The First Team All-District Defense consisted of:

Grapeland: James Coleman – #23, LB, Sr.; Lane Dreher – #70, DE, Sr.; Javion Joseph – #4, OLB, Sr.; Tyrin Wiley – #7, DB, Sr.; Keizion Ashford – #10, DB, So.;and Jason DeCluette – #73, NT, Fr. Coleman recorded 119 Tackles, 10 TFLs, two sacks, two INTs and had one TD. Dreher had 107 Tackles, 27 TFLs, nine sacks, two FFs and one FR. Ashford had 53 tackles, three TFLs, one sack, two INTs and 11 PBUs.

Lovelady: Jay Thomas-Robinson – #13, DB, Sr.; Michael Price – #22, DB, Sr.; Logan LeBlanc – #6, OLB, Jr.; and Greyson Bachyncky – #18, DE, Sr.

Evadale: Parker Moye – #84, DE, Sr.; Tyler Montlvo – #51, DT, Jr.; McKennon Wilson – #71, DT, Jr.; and Kylar Vernon – #42, LB, Jr.

West Hardin: Russell Payne – #31, DE, Jr. and Isaac Murphy – #55, LB, Jr.

Colmesneil: Wesley Dobbins – #1, LB, Jr. and Skyler Tompkins – #81, OLB, Sr.

The Second Team All-District Offense consisted of:

Grapeland: Ty Hamlin – #50, OL, Jr. and Keriaun Davis – #11, WR, Sr.

Lovelady: Deundre Simon – #67, OT, Sr.; Tre’ Hawkins – #24, WR, Sr.; Jaxson Reeves – #65, OL, So.; and Morgan Thrasher – #60, OL, Jr.

Evadale: Dylan Reeves – #55, OL, Sr.

Burkeville: Kaleb Urie – #77, OL, Jr.

The Second Team All-District Defense consisted of:

Grapeland: Chanellor Francis – #65, DE, Jr. Francis recorded 83 Tackles, 17 TFLs, six sacks, one FF and one FR.

Lovelady: Colter Hardcastle – #64, DL, Sr.; Chris McKnight – #55, DL, Sr.; Josh Martinez – #10, OLB, Jr.; Tre’von Hawkins – #2, DB, Jr, Lovelady

Evadale: Jacob Moore – #68, DT, So.; Lane Vinson – #9, DB, Sr.; Trent Sons – #22, DB, Sr.; and Blain Tibbs – #6, DB, Sr.

West Hardin: Caleb Brown – #57, LB, Sr.; Preston Price – #77, DT, Jr.; Nino Jimenez – #54, DT, So.; and Taylor Smart – #8, CB, Sr.

Colmesneil: Kaleb Powers – #10, DB, Jr.; Gerrick Vrooman – #50, OL, Jr.; and Dillon Tompkins – #69, DL, Sr.

Honorable Mention:

West Hardin: Ty Gazaway OLB, #72 So.; Isaac Murphy OL, # 55, Jr.; and Matthew Anderson, Utility, #10, Sr.

Colmesneil: Jay Johnson, #9, Fr. and Kolyer Marshall, # 72, Fr.

Burkeville: Colton Day, #15, Sr.; Ulysses Hall, #66, So.; and Daunte Hartsfield, #5, Sr.

Evadale: Bryce Tousha, Jr.; Cutler Jackson, Sr.; Klay Sylvester, Jr.; Chance Simon, Jr.; Tyler Ferguson, So.; Wyatt Taylor, Sr.; Drake Hartt, Fr.; Kaden Ingram, Jr.; Kaden Patterson, Jr.; and Trace Hollyfield, Sr.

Will Johnson may be reached via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.

Please follow and like us: