Home News Local News Crockett Ring of Honor Inductees, Homecoming Court Honored

Crockett Ring of Honor Inductees, Homecoming Court Honored


Weather Forces Ceremonies Indoors

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

CROCKETT – The 2018 celebrations planned for the Crockett Independent School District and the 2018 Homecoming Court were forced indoors after late-afternoon thunderstorms rolled through the East Texas area on Friday, Spt. 21.

As they say, however, the show must go on and go on it did. The evening festivities began with the induction ceremony of four individuals into the Crockett ISD Ring of Honor. They were: David “Buddy” Cro

ss, the late Johnnie Faye O’Neal Mask McKnight, Everett Perry Ramsey III and Tom S. Ramsey.

The Ring of Honor ceremony was emceed by CISD Board of Trustees member Ansel Bradshaw. Following Bradshaw’s opening remarks he invited

Dr. John Garner – another CISD Board of Trustees member – to lead the invocation.

Once the prayer concluded, CISD Board President Lela Wheeler introduced the remainder of the board including: Vice President Trey Young; Secretary Karen Johnson; Mo Amjad and Roy Johnson.

CISD Superintendent Terry Myers assumed the podium after the board introductions and welcomed those in attendance.

“This is a special time around the school. You remember the inductees and what it was like to play in a homecoming game or to be here for the homecoming festivities. All of you probably remember participating in one of these events. You can see we are all dressed in school colors and I want to tell you, our school district is alive and well and taking care of our children each and every day,” Myers said.

“I really appreciate you folks coming back to receive this honor and to be part of what we are still doing in this school district. Remember, it takes a village to raise a child. It takes all of us who are alumni or have some type of allegiance to this school district to raise these children and continue to tell them what a great privilege it is to raise and educate them in this community,” the superintendent remarked.

The Crockett High School Band was up next to play the school song and the CHS fight song followed by Bradshaw’s return to the stage for the induction ceremony.

Each of the four inductees – Mrs. McKnight was represented by her daughters Rita Wallace and Dana Montgomery – was called to the front of the stage where Bradshaw read off their high school accomplishments and what they have done after their school days.

As CISD Asst. Superintendent John Emerich closed the ceremony with the benediction, the 2018 Homecoming ceremonies were getting cranked up in the gym next door.

This year’s class representatives are: Miss and Mr. Freshman – Trinity Meadows and Tayshwn Simon; Miss Sophomore – Stephine Govea; and Miss and Mr. Junior R’Reyanna Strange and Toreyaan Jones.

The club and sport representatives were: Band – Tierra Dupree and Javonte Allen; Cross Country – Alexis Frias; Drama Club – Jasmine Arvizu and Uriel Hernandez; Fellowship of Christian Athletes – Keytriana Sandles and AJ Owens; FFA – Morgan Hartt; Football Sweetheart – Alaina Griffen; Library Club – Ashley Moore and Nikolas Brown; the National Honor Society  – Jaida Lockhart and Keyshawn Tinsley; Soccer – Sophia Gonzales; Spanish Club – Mireya Cruz and Luis Grimaldo; Student Council – Ileana Escalante; Volleyball – Kaitlin Holmes; and Yearbook – Jayda Smith and Carlos Navarro.

The King and Queen candidates were: Taronshae Johnson; Malik Johnson; Shantiya Moore; Jeremiah Stewart; A’Morne Sins; and Elian Villanueva.

Taronshae Johnson was selected as Homecoming Queen and Elian Villanueva was selected as Homecoming King.


Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.

Please follow and like us: