Home News Local News CISD Board Recognizes Students

CISD Board Recognizes Students


Resignation of Board Member Josh Crabtree Accepted

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

CROCKETT – During the May 21 meeting of the Crockett Independent School District Board of Trustees, fourth grade students who participated in the Republic of Texas Saturday were recognized.

Once the meeting had been called to order by Board President Lela Wheeler, she yielded the floor to Crockett Elementary Principal Robin Stowe.

“Thank you for allowing us to come and share with you our fourth grade experience,” the elementary principal began. “Each fourth grade student had the opportunity to be committed to coming to school on two Saturdays. On April 14, they came and researched a topic about the Texas Revolution. The next Saturday, on April 21, we took a field trip to the San Jacinto Monument, where they were able to witness a re-enactment (of the Battle of San Jacinto).”

Stowe added the students were also able to speak with the actors involved with the re-enactment and to ride the elevator up to the observation deck of the San Jacinto Memorial.

Josh Crabtree

Next, Stowe requested several students to come forward and give a presentation over the various projects they had worked on concerning the Texas Revolution.

Following the Texas Revolution projects, members of the CHS Boys’ and Girls’ Track and Field Team were recognized by the board, including Joseph Porter who won the gold medal in the 200m dash at the UIL Class 3A State Track and Field Meet in Austin. National Honor Society inductees were also recognized by the board.

Once all the recognitions had concluded, the oath of office was administered to Wheeler along with board members Karen Johnson and Roy Johnson. The three board members were uncontested in their bids for re-election.

Staying with the board of trustees personnel, the board accepted the resignation of District One Board Member Josh Crabtree, following a lengthy executive session. Crabtree recently moved outside of his district, forcing his resignation.

A tentative date of May 28 has been set aside to select a candidate to fill Crabtree’s unexpired term on the board.

After the three trustees had been sworn in, a motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved to keep the board officers as is. Lela Wheeler will remain as president, Trey Young will remain as vice president and Karen Johnson will remain as secretary.

As the meeting continued, CISD resident Stanley Stewart addressed the board during the public comments portion of the meeting regarding non-compliance with Americans with Disabilities Act.

“I feel like some of the students are not given the proper tools to succeed. I feel like they are behind because the tools they are given are not the tools that they need. At the same time, I feel we have a lot of students who are asking for help but don’t know how to get it because the teachers don’t know how to provide the help needed,” he said.

In other matters brought before the board:

  • Consent agenda items were approved.
  • Assistant Superintendent John Emerich provided the board with an update on recommendations from the Student Health Advisory Council (SHAC).
  • The deadline for Ring of Honor nominees was set for June 1.
  • Bids to remove existing curbs, traffic islands and deteriorating driveways were awarded to the Kevin Maxwell Company.


Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.