Early Voting Begins Feb. 20

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

HOUSTON COUNTY – Election season shifts into high gear on Tuesday, Feb. 20 as early voting begins across the state for the March 6 Primary Election. Early voting runs until Friday, March 2.

One of the first things a voter needs to remember is to bring an acceptable form of identification to the polling location.

According to the Texas Secretary of State’s website, “When you arrive at the polling place, you will be asked to present one of the seven (7) acceptable forms of photo identification, unless you are a voter with a permanent exemption on your voter registration certificate. If you do not possess a form of acceptable photo identification and you cannot reasonably obtain one, show a supporting form of identification to the election official and execute a Reasonable Impediment Declaration. The election official will ask if you have moved and then ask you to sign the list of people who have voted in the precinct.”

Below is a list of the acceptable forms of photo ID:

  • Texas Driver License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
  • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS
  • Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS
  • Texas Handgun License issued by DPS
  • United States Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph
  • United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph
  • United States Passport (book or card)

A voter will also need to know where to vote. The sole location for early voting is the Houston County Courthouse. The hours of operation are from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Early voting will also be held on Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 24 and 25, from 8 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.

If there is a need for a runoff, the date of May 22 has been set aside for the runoff election.

Elections Administrator Cynthia Lum provided a list of polling locations for the Primary Election Day of March 6.

Locations of polling places:

  • Precinct 1: Crockett Fire Station
  • Precinct 2: Former JP Office / Old Jail
  • Precinct 3: Crockett ISD Administration
  • Precinct 4: Houston County Senior Citizens Center
  • Precinct 5: First United Methodist Church – Grapeland
  • Precinct 6: Grapeland High School
  • Precinct 7: Lovelady Community Center
  • Precinct 8: Liberty Hill United Methodist Church
  • Precinct 9: Pearson Chapel Church
  • Precinct 10: Austonio Community Center
  • Precinct 11: Mt. Senora Baptist Church
  • Precinct 12: Belott Community Church
  • Precinct 14: Latexo Community Center
  • Precinct 15: Mt. Zion Church
  • Precinct 16: San Pedro Baptist Church
  • Precinct 17: Weldon Baptist Church
  • Precinct 18: Holly Community Center
  • Precinct 19: Kennard Bus Barn
  • Precinct 20: Weches Fire Station
  • Precinct 21: Ratcliff Senior Citizens Center
  • Precinct 22: Porter Springs Baptist Faith and Outreach Center

The 2018 Uniform Election date is Nov. 6, 2018.

Will Johnson may be reached via e-mail at [email protected].


Similar Posts

One Comment

Comments are closed.