2017 Future Career Woman, Executive Committee Announced

By Sarah Naron

Messenger Reporter

HOUSTON COUNTY – Nine lucky young ladies from Houston County were recently awarded scholarships by the Houston County Career Women (HCCW) with Grapeland ISD student Jennilea Lovell being awarded the highest honor of Future Career Woman.

“We have had the Future Career Woman (award) for several years, but this year, we decided to add an executive committee for her,” explained HCCW member Sherry Culp. “It consists of girls from all five schools in the county.”

According to Culp, the decision to include the special committee was a result of a two-way tie for second place and a four-way tie for third place.

“We thought, ‘These girls have done so good. We need to do something about that,’” Culp said. “That’s when we decided to add the executive committee and have it with all of the schools being represented.”

Culp said the HCCW hopes to be able to carry on the new tradition in the years to come.

According to Culp, the applicants were judged on community service, participation in extracurricular activities and academic performance.

“Their community service and activities in the school are what we really look at the most,” she said. “These girls just ranked so high, we just had to do something about it.”

Lovell received a $500 scholarship, while each of the remaining eight finalists were each awarded $100. The members of the executive committee included Sarah Alfred of Kennard ISD, Hannah Burleson of Lovelady ISD, Kara Fiolek of Crockett ISD, Makayla Gunnels of Latexo ISD, Kelsey Patterson of Latexo ISD, Destini Mancilla of Kennard ISD, Callie Richburg of Grapeland ISD and Hannah Turner of Grapeland ISD.

Sarah Naron may be reached via email at [email protected].

Similar Posts