Home Sports District 27-1A Boys’ All District Selections Released

District 27-1A Boys’ All District Selections Released


By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter 

GRAPELAND – At the conclusion of the 2016-2017 boys’ basketball season, the All-District team selections for District 27-1A were released.

Selected as Coach of the Year was Laneville Yellow Jackets’ Head Coach Josh Jones.

The MVP of the district was Laneville Yellow Jacket Jaylon Grant.

The Offensive MVP of District 27-1A was Laneville Yellow Jacket LaDarius Arnett.


The Defensive MVP of District 27-1A was Slocum Mustang Alex Maldonado.

The Newcomer of the Year in District 27-1A was Milford Bulldog Ricky Pendleton.

Slocum Mustang Jacob Lane was selected to the All-District First Team from District 27-1A.

Laneville Yellow Jackets Christian Brantley and Jaden Johnson were also selected for First Team honors.

Trinidad Trojan Jerry Bannister was selected to the First Team.

Milford Bulldogs Ta’Ron Smith and Markavion Thompson also received First Team All-District recognition.

The Second Team All-District selections for District 27-1A included: Slocum Mustang Cody Bitz; Avalon Eagles Makavin Bodie, Alex Hernandez and Terry Shears; and Oakwood Panthers Key’Undre Davis and Austin Shuptrine.

The Messenger would like to extend its congratulations to all the young men on the list for a very enjoyable 2016-2017 basketball season and for a job well done.

Will Johnson may be reached via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.

Please follow and like us: