Home Sports District 21-2A All-District Baseball Team Announced

District 21-2A All-District Baseball Team Announced


Ackley Named MVP

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – With the conclusion 2017-2018 UIL baseball season, area All-District teams have been released.

With the Slocum Mustangs winning the state title at the 1A level, it has taken a while before the coaches were able to release the District 21-AA All District list.

Case Boyd

In the 2017-2018 season, District 21-AA was comprised of: the Centerville Tigers; the Grapeland Sandies; the Latexo Tigers; the Lovelady Lions; the Normangee Panthers; the North Zulch Bulldogs; and the Slocum Mustangs.

At the Superlative level, the overall District MVP was Josh “Bear” Ackley from Grapeland. Ackley had a .432 batting average, and a .591 OBP to go along with eight doubles, two triples, 15 RBI, 22 runs scored and 20 stolen bases. Ackley also pitched 49.2 inning and had a 5-3 record. His ERA was 1.27 and he had two saves and 69 strikeouts.

Ethan Peterson

The Offensive MVP was Evan Pate from Normangee.The Defensive MVP was Chad Fulgham from Lovelady.

The Newcomer of the Year was Carter Murray from Lovelady.

The Co-Coaches of the Year were: Cameron Besetzny from Grapeland and Richard Gunnels from Lovelady.

The First Team All-District selections were:

Catcher: Colton Adams from Centerville.

Pitchers: Hunter Free from Centerville; Taylor Hunt from Slocum; and James O’Neal from North Zulch.

Blake Howard

Infielders: Centerville – Cade Beshears and Mikey Rojas; Grapeland – Case Boyd, Austin Driskell, Blake Howard and Ethan Peterson; Latexo – Justin Bobbitt; Lovelady – Jay Thomas Robinson; Normangee Colbey Powell; Slocum – Dustin Fletcher, Randy Guess and Austin Sarraf.

Outfielders: Lovelady – Tim Johnson and Logan Lowery; Normangee – Logan Andrews and Ryan Pate; and North Zulch – Michael Harris.

The Second Team All-District selections were:

Austin Driskell

Catchers: Cooper Sheridan from Grapeland and Cole Weaver from North Zulch.

Infielders: Dillon Denman from Centerville; Matthew Wheeler from Latexo; Mason Phillips, Ethan Tullos and Taylor Womack all from Lovelady; Brady Harris and CJ Rosales from Normangee; Blake Housely from North Zulch and Colton Peters from Slocum.

Outfielders: Tanner Smoldas from Centerville; BJ Lamb from Grapeland; Chayse Smith from Normangee; and Joe Byrnes from Slocum.

Utility: Taylor Lomax from Slocum.

Honorable Mention: Dylan Duhon, Camarron Mixon and Cameron Navarette from Grapeland.


Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.