Home Sports District 22-AA All District Volleyball Teams Announced

District 22-AA All District Volleyball Teams Announced

Grapeland Sandiette Teira Jones was named All-District Co-MVP Blocker. Photo by Will Johnson / Messenger.

Grapeland Sandiette Teira Jones Named Co-MVP Blocker

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – With the conclusion of the 2017 UIL Class AA State Volleyball Tournament, the District 22-AA All-District Teams were announced. All-District selections are not released until all teams in a district have concluded their season.

Once again, the District 22-AA champs, the Iola Lady Bulldogs found themselves in the State Championship game and as a result, the postseason accolades were not released until late last month.

The All-District Superlatives were awarded to the following players:

MVP: Mackenzie Mordecai, Jr., Centerville Lady Tigers

Offensive MVP: Sally Osth, Sr., North Zulch Lady Bulldogs

Defensive MVP: Allie Johnson, Sr., Iola Lady Bulldogs

MVP Setter: Tara Goolsby, Soph., Centerville Lady Tigers

Co-MVP Blockers: Teira Jones, Fr., Grapeland Sandiettes and McKayla Neubauer, Sr., Centerville Lady Tigers

Newcomer of the Year: Emmy Webb, Soph., Iola Lady Bulldogs

Co-Servers of the Year: Madisyn Franks, Jr., Centerville Lady Tigers and Hannah Morton, Soph., Normangee Lady Panthers

First Team All-District honors went to:

Centerville Lady Tigers – Avery Hancock and Kirsten Jeitz

Grapeland Sandiettes – Ragan Bowie and Hannah Chipman

Iola Lady Bulldogs – Jessika Fairbanks and Maggie Webb

Latexo Lady Tigers – Jordan Davenport and Baylee Granberry

Lovelady Lady Lions – Kaiden LeMaire and Jamie Welch

Normangee Lady Panthers – Audry Acord, Madison Light and Jordan Ruffeno

North Zulch Lady Bulldogs – Emma Baker and Raegan Vancour

Second Team All-District honors went to:

Centerville Lady Tigers – Baelie Gray

Grapeland Sandiettes – Tatiyana Bowie and KeKe Harris

Iola Lady Bulldogs – Tatum Nevill and Taylor Nevill

Latexo Lady Tigers – Harli Brent and Diana Maza

Lovelady Lady Lions – Jaime Mora

Normangee Lady Panthers – Kaylee Morton and Jayci West

North Zulch Lady Bulldogs – Cassidy Brown and Ana Osth

Honorable Mention honors went to:

Centerville Lady Tigers – Kameron Hardee and Hannah Matthews

Grapeland Sandiettes – Madelyn McCombs and Kenya Woods

Iola Lady Bulldogs – Emily Bowman

Latexo Lady Tigers – Alyssa Coad and Destiny Filer

Lovelady Lady Lions – Skylar Hardcastle, Brittnie Huester and Jacy Stubblefield

Normangee Lady Panthers – Haley Ross and Maci Sanders

North Zulch Lady Bulldogs – Allie Grier, Megan Massey, Sam Moore and Cheyanne Wallin

Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.

Please follow and like us: