Home Education Latexo ISD Highlights STARR Results

Latexo ISD Highlights STARR Results


Student Achievements Recognized  

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

LATEXO – During the Latexo Independent School District Board of Trustees meeting held on Thursday, May 9, STAAR test results and UIL accomplishments were highlighted.

During the Elementary report, Principal Sandi Simpson reported a program known as iEngage would be giving a presentation on Friday, May 10 at the Latexo Community Center at 2 pm. The program teaches children about civic action and political participation.

Simpson also provided the board with the results from the first administration of the fifth grade math and English scores. In math, she reported 100 % of the students scored “approaches grade level”; 78 % “meets grade level”; and 56 % “masters grade level.”

In English, Simpson indicated 89 % of the students scored “approaches grade level”; 48% “meets grade level”; and 15% “masters grade level.”

Following the elementary report, UIL Coordinators Kim Watson (also HS principal) and Audrey Cravens presented the 2019 UIL Class 2A State Champion Mathematics Team and the 2019 UIL Class 2A State Runners-Up Current Issues Team to the board.

It was also noted, Current Issues team member Taryn Curless would be competing in the UIL State speaking competition later this month.

The board was also informed the high school curriculum would also offer college-level chemistry.

Prior to the reports portion of the meeting, the board elected its 2019-2020 slate of officers. Kelly Nicol was elected as president, Bobbie Jo Frizzell was elected as vice-president and Jeffrey Catoe was elected as secretary.

Following the officer selection, the board was provided with the second reading of Policy Update 112 was provided and consent agenda items were approved.

New hires were also approved by the board. These included: Madison Dunn in agricultural sciences; Heather Pierce, RN as the school nurse; and William Dugat as the Dean of Students.

Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.

Please follow and like us: