May 5 Election Results

Cities, School Districts and Special Purpose Districts

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – The election for school board, city council, special purpose districts and municipal propositions was held on Saturday, May 5. While most of the races were uncontested, a few of the contested races drew quite a bit of interest.

One of the more hotly contested races involved the Houston County Hospital District (HCHD). There were four positions on the ballot up for election. In Position Eight, Board President Deborah Porth Blackwell was defeated by challenger Dina P. Pipes by a count of 1,566 votes for Pipes and 913 for Blackwell.

In Position Six, incumbent Jim Dowell decided not to seek re-election. Rhonda Currie-Brown was the only candidate to file for the position and she received 1,695 votes. As a result, Brown will be sworn in once the votes are canvassed and certified.

In Places Two and Four, Dr. Perry Ramsey and Dr. John Stovall were unopposed. Ramsey received 1,692 votes while Stovall received 1,606.

Concerning the HCHD Proposition to move the tax cap from its current rate of 15 cents to 35 cents per $100 of property valuation, the measure failed by a margin of 982 votes in favor and 1,604 against.

The Grapeland Hospital District also held a contested election. While incumbent Carol Wynne was unopposed for Position One – she received 122 votes – three candidates squared off in the race for position two.

Sandra Woolsey received 74 votes to win the board seat. Charley Darsey received 36 votes and Carey Trahan received 28.

Moving to the school board elections – at Crockett ISD – incumbents Roy Johnson in District 3, Karen Johnson in District 4 and Lela Wheeler in District 7 were unopposed and will return to the board for another term.

Grapeland ISD will see a new face on the Board of Trustees as Paul Oliver decided not to seek re-election to Position 4. Former Grapeland City Council Member Velda Parker was the only person to file for the position and she will be sworn in after the votes are canvassed.

Allen Cheatham in Position 3 and Josh Goolsby in Position 5 were unopposed and will return for another term.

In Kennard, the election was cancelled. There were four at-large positions up for election and four candidates filed to run. Keith Cole will fill the unexpired one-year term, while Crest Adair, Rebecca Parker and Mickey Pyle will fill the three, three-year positions.

Moving to Latexo, Positions 3 and 4 were up for election this year. Bobbie Jo Frizzell was the only candidate to file for Position 3 and will return to the board for another term. Incumbent Danny Gilson did not file for re-election in Position 4. Jeffrey Catoe was the lone candidate to file for his spot and will be sworn-in once are canvassed.

Lovelady ISD had the only contested school board races in Houston County. Position 1 saw Joel Shoemaker square off against John Pugh. Shoemaker received 249 votes while Pugh received 235 votes.

Joel Hazlett decided not to run for election from Position 4. As a result, Wacey Scott Moore and Pat Allen filed as candidates to take his seat on the LISD Board of Trustees. Allen received 325 votes while Moore received 147 votes.

Positions 2 and 3, held by Robin Robinson and Bruce Monk – respectively – were uncontested.

Shoemaker and Allen will be sworn in after the votes have been canvassed.

At the city level, Crockett was the only city to have a contested election. Mayor Pro Tem Mike Marsh received 177 votes while challenger Dr. Ianthia Fisher received 88 votes in the race for the Precinct Five city council position.

Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at [email protected].

Similar Posts

One Comment

Comments are closed.