Area School Board Elections Set

Election Day is May 5

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – The last day to file for a place on the General Election Ballot for school board positions was Friday, Feb. 16 and while area residents always seem to grumble and complain about their school taxes as well as the way school board trustees “foolishly” spend the taxpayers’ money, only two area districts have contested races.

The last day to file a declaration of write-in candidacy was Tuesday, Feb. 20. If no candidates decide to launch a write-in campaign, school board elections in Crockett, Grapeland, Kennard, Latexo, Palestine and Westwood will be cancelled. As of press time on Feb. 20, no candidates had filed for a write-in position.

Starting in Crockett ISD, incumbents Roy Johnson in District 3, Karen Johnson in District 4 and Lela Wheeler in District 7 are unopposed and will return to the board for another term.

Grapeland ISD will see a new face on the Board of Trustees as Paul Oliver decided not to seek re-election to Position 4. Former Grapeland City Council Member Velda Parker was the only person to file for the position and she will be sworn in following the May election.

Allen Cheatham in Position 3 and Josh Goolsby in Position 5 were unopposed and will return for another term, beginning in May.

The Grapeland Hospital District will, however, see a contested race for Position 2 between three candidates. Candidates filing for the position are: Charley Darsey; Carey Trahan; and Sandra Woolsey. Carol Wynne, representing Position One is unopposed.

In Kennard, the election will be cancelled. There were four at-large positions up for election and four candidates filed to run. Keith Cole will fill the unexpired one-year term, while Crest Adair, Rebecca Parker and Mickey Pyle will fill the three, three-year positions.

Moving to Latexo, Positions 3 and 4 are up for election this year. Bobbie Jo Frizzell was the only candidate to file for Position 3 and will return to office for another term. Incumbent Danny Gilson did not file for re-election in Position 4. Jeffrey Catoe was the lone candidate to file for his spot and will be sworn-in following the May election.

Lovelady ISD will have the only contested school board race in Houston County. Position 1 will see Joel Shoemaker square off against John Pugh. Positions 2 and 3, held by Robin Robinson and Bruce Monk – respectively – are uncontested.

Joel Hazlett decided not to run for election from Position 4. As a result, Wacey Scott Moore as well as Pat Allen have filed to take his seat on the LISD Board of Trustees.

In Anderson County, Palestine ISD will cancel their election, unless there are some last minute write-ins. In Place 1, incumbent Dyna Tutt was the only candidate to file and will return for another term. Place 2 is also uncontested and will see Brandon Sheeley return to the position. In Place 5, Davey Killion-Ingram was the only candidate to file and will take her position in May.

South of Palestine, Elkhart ISD will have a contested election for two seats at the boardroom table. In Place 6, Kevin Bush and Will Brooks will battle it out for the position while in Place 7, Charles McShan and Charles Page will face-off in the May 5 election.

Moving to Westwood ISD, Dr. Carolyn Booker in District 7, Mike Bentley in District 1 and Leonard Armstrong in District 4 are all unopposed and will return/be sworn in during May.

Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at [email protected].

Similar Posts

One Comment

Comments are closed.