By Will Johnson

Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – With the loss of the Centerville Tigers to the Refugio Wildcats in the State Semi-Finals on Dec. 9, all the football teams from District 12-2A DI are now out of the playoffs.


The Groveton Indians won the district but fell to the San Augustine Wolves in the first round of the playoffs by a score of 35-34

The Indians were joined in first round defeat by the West Sabine Tigers as they lost to the Carlisle Indians 38-30.


The Lovelady Lions were seeking to duplicate their run from last year when they made the State Semi-Finals against Refugio.

In the Bi-District round, the Lions defeated the Joaquin Rams 33-16. The next week, the Lovelady Lions defeated the Union Grove Lions by a score of 36-27. Unfortunately for Lovelady


, the team came up a little short the following week as they fell to Centerville in the third round of the playoffs by a score of 43-14.

Prior to their win over Lovelady, Centerville defeated the Alto Yellow Jacket, 49-28 and the Kerens Bobcats 55-6. After their win over the Lions, the Tigers defeated Carlisle by a score of 23-17 to set up the game with Refugio.

T. Johnson

As a result of Centerville’s 38-14 loss to Refugio, the All-District teams from District 12-2A DI were released.

The superlative award winners for District 11-2A DII are:

  • District Most Valuable Players: Glenn Thornton – Groveton
  • Defensive MVP: Ethan Cathey – Groveton
  • Offensive MVP: Dawson Chumley – Groveton
  • Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Torento Golatt – Centerville
  • Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Kaiden Stoma – Deweyville
  • Coach of the Year: Brandon Craus – Groveton

    B. Johnson

The First Team Offensive selections were:

Quarterbacks: Cody Brown – West Hardin; Lee Holsey – Lovelady; and Demarie S


Offensive Line:  Tanner Ebarb – Groveton; Cody Fairchild – Groveton; Hunter Maloy – Deweyville; DeMario Mattingly – Lovelady; and Ethan Reynolds – Groveton.

Wide Receivers: Saul Chavez – Groveton and Hunter Murray – Lovelady.

Tight Ends: Coleman Robinson – Centerville.


Running Backs: Zack Franklin- West Sabine; Dylon Fuge – West Sabine; and Brandon Madison – Centerville.

Kicker: Daniel Byrd – Centerville.

The Second Team Offensive selections were:

Quarterbacks: Hunter Free – Centerville.

Offensive Line: Chad Cleaver – Groveton; Daren Dew – West Sabine; Bubba Driskell – Groveton; Blaine Edwards – West Sabine; Jose Hernandez – Centerville; Blake Hollis – Groveton; Nathan Hughes Deweyville; and Blake Johnson– Lovelady.


Wide Receivers: Devon Hammock – Lovelady; Jay Hughes – West Hardin; Haden Terry – Groveton; and Jeramiah Trevino – Deweyville.

Running Backs: Jace Atchley – Deweyville; Koy Howle – Centerville; and Tim Johnson – Lovelady.


Kicker: Jonte Wagner – West Sabine.  

The First Team Defensive selections are:

Defensive Line: Daniel Byrd – Centerville; Gollin Chesson – West Hardin; Bobby Fox – Deweyville; Nick Harper – West Sabine; Koy Howle – Centerville;   DeMario Mattingly – Lovelady; 


Trey Rocka – Groveton; Trey Hance – Groveton; and Christian Zarate – Centerville.

Linebackers:  Anthony Chavez – Groveton; Trevor Galloway – West Sabine; Petey Little – Lovelady; and Tyler Snead – West Hardin.

Defensive Backs: Nate Dickerson – Deweyville; Caden Hubbard – Deweyville; Hunter Murray – Lovelady; Eli Stewart – Groveton



Punter: Jay Thomas Robinson – Lovelady

The Second Team Defensive selections are:

Defensive Line: Eli Hardeman – Groveton; Matthew Howell – Groveton; Brett Huester – Lovelady; Mason Phillips and Ty Stephens – West Sabine.  

Linebackers: Ju


stin Lilyquist – Deweyville; Russell Payne – West Hardin; Dylan Pate – Centerville; Corbyn Self – Groveton; Coleman Simpson – Centerville; Michael Strham – West Hardin; and Mark White – West Sabine.

Defensive Backs: Ethan Campbell – Lovelady; Roland Davis – Centerville; Kaylon Horace – Groveton; Cade Pate – Centerville; and Dailon Smith – West Sabine.

Punter: Coleman Robinson – Centerville

Will Johnson may be reached via e-mail at