Home Sports District 20-2A Boys’ All District Selections Released

District 20-2A Boys’ All District Selections Released


Sandies Dominate Superlatives

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter 

GRAPELAND – With the conclusion of the Lovelady Lions’ season in the Region III Semifinals and Grapeland Sandies’ season in the Region III Finals, the All-District selections for the 2018-2019 season from District 20-2A were released.

Selected as Coach of the Year was the Grapeland Sandies Head Coach Cannon Earp.

The MVP of District 20-2A was Keizion Ashford from the Grapeland Sandies.

The Co-Offensive MVPs of the district were Deco Bryant from the Grapeland Sandies and Jay Thomas Robinson from the Lovelady Lions.

The Co-Defensive MVPs of District 20-2A were Grapeland Sandie Rick Frauenberger and Lovelady Lion Logan Lowery.

The Newcomer of the Year in District 20-2A was Slocum Mustang Josh Ives.

The First Team All-District Selections for District 20-2A were Grapeland Sandies Javion Joseph, Cadarian Wiley and Tyrin Wiley.

Lovelady Lions TreVon Hawkins, Seth Murray and Michael Price were also selected to the First Team squad.

Centerville Tiger Dillon Denman was also selected for First Team honors.

Rick Frauenberger goes up for the block during first-half action of the Grapeland Sandies 89-35 win over the Centerville Tigers.

Groveton Indian Eli Stewart was selected to the First Team.

Leon Cougar Keaton Caveness was selected to the First Team.

The Second Team All-District selections for District 20-2A included: Grapeland Sandies Josh Ackley and Keriaun Davis; Latexo Tiger Tristan Curless; Lovelady Lions Deontrae Hawkins and Chris McKnight; Slocum Mustangs Randy Guess and Travis Neal; Centerville Tiger Cannon Robinson; and Groveton Indian Luke Taylor.

Honorable Mention honors went to Grapeland Sandie Jack Woodford; Leon Cougars Justin Massey and Brayden Sexton; Centerville Tigers Jake Cannon and BJ Kelly; and Groveton Indians Anthony Chavez, Trenton Torregrossa, Zack Fisher and Blake Hollis.

The Messenger would like to extend its congratulations to all the young men on this list for a very enjoyable 2017-2018 basketball season and for a job well done.

Will Johnson may be reached via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.