Home Education Latexo OAP Gives Community Performance

Latexo OAP Gives Community Performance


By Kelly Nicol

LATEXO – Latexo’s UIL One Act Play performed their Regional Finalist Play for the community on Thursday evening, April, 25. The audience was treated to an outstanding performance of Donald Margulies “Shipwrecked! The Amazing Adventures of Louis de Rougemont (as Told by Himself),” directed by Emily Carden, Angela Richey, and Kim Watson.

The evening started with desserts – prepared by the cast and crew along with their parents – and were enjoyed by all.

As the lights dimmed and the curtains opened, the cast and crew drew the audience into a fantastic tale told by Louis de Rougemont (Hasnain Asad) about the adventures he embarked upon after leaving his mother (Elena Hewett) in England.

His story told of his journey that started in England through the high seas to Australia and back again.  His “grand tale” is brought into doubt by several experts, but as the audience can attest, whether true or maybe stretched a bit, “Shipwrecked” was entertaining to all.

The cast, in order of appearance, is comprised of: Louis de Rougemont, played by Hasnain Asad; Elena Hewett as Louis’ Mother, Captain Jensen, Yamba, and Chorus; Caitlyn Meyers as Australian Prospector, Turtle Expert and Chorus; Lucas Mahan as Queen Victoria, Pink Porpoise, and Chorus; Claire Robinson as Bruno, Newsboy, Wombat Expert, and Chorus; Angel Schave as Pearl Fisher, Bobo, Albert, Reporter #1, and Chorus; Ethan Smith as Fitzgerald, Octopus Expert, and Chorus; Kayla Walker as Albert’s Mother and Chorus; Ebony Perez as Reporter #2 and Chorus; Hannah Turner as Map Maker and Chorus; and Seth Stilley Chorus.

Crew members included Carly Ryman (Curtains/Props), Emily Streetman (Lights), Savannah Lackey (Stage Manager), Miranda Kerby (Sound), and DeLaney Murray (props).

During their qualifying performances at District, Bi-District, Area, and ultimately as Regional finalist, Latexo received many awards including Best Actor, All Star Cast, Honorable Mention Cast, as well as Stage Crew and Tech Awards.

Please follow and like us: