Home Sports District 20-2A Girls’ All District Selections Released

District 20-2A Girls’ All District Selections Released


Sandiettes Dominate Superlatives

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter 

GRAPELAND – With the conclusion of the Grapeland Sandiettes season in the UIL Class 2A Basketball Championship Game, the All-District selections for the 2018-2019 season from District 20-2A were released.

Selected as Coach of the Year was the Grapeland Sandiettes Head Coach Anthony DeCello.

Teira Jones drives the lane for two of her 16 points in Grapeland’s 59-58 OT win against the Lovelady Lions.

The Co-MVPs of the district were Grapeland Sandiettes KeKe Harris and Teira Jones. Last year’s Co-MVPs were also Sandiettes – Ragan Bowie and Hannah Chipman.

The Offensive MVP of District 20-2A was Lovelady Lady Lion Skye Watts. This is Watts’ second consecutive year to win this award.

The Co-Defensive MVPs of District 20-2A were Grapeland Sandiette Ragan Bowie and Centerville Lady Tiger Kinsey Hardee.

The Co-Newcomers of the Year in District 20-2A were Centerville Lady Tiger Keyonna Holley and Slocum Lady Mustang Gabi Skelton.

The First Team All-District Selections for District 20-2A were Grapeland Sandiettes Hannah Chipman and Kenya Woods.

Lovelady Lady Lions Kaiden LeMaire and Jala Rollo were also selected to the First Team squad.

Centerville Lady Tigers Avery Hancock, Hannah Matthews and Brittany West were also selected for First Team honors.

Groveton Lady Indian Lena Taylor was selected to the First Team.

Ragan Bowie

Leon Lady Cougar Sarah Grace Merry was selected to the First Team.

Slocum Lady Mustang Jalyn Fletcher was selected to the First Team.

The Second Team All-District selections for District 20-2A included: Grapeland Sandiette Tatiyana Bowie; Latexo Lady Tigers Madison Catoe and Maggie Gibbins; Lovelady Lady Lions Baylee Granberry and Sarah Thompson; Slocum Lady Mustangs Gina Lively and Jaidan Wickersham; Centerville Lady Tigers Kaede Thomas and Shania West; Leon Lady Cougar Tara Goolsby; and Groveton Lady Indian Chasity Blair.

Honorable Mention honors went to Grapeland Sandiettes JaMiyah Bowie and Tori Woodford; Lovelady Lady Lions Shyanne Pipkin and Rajanae Polhamus; Leon Lady Cougars Kassidy Cravey, Sarah Rains and Tori Salley; Centerville Lady Tiger KK Stevens; Slocum Lady Mustangs Courtney January and Lanie Lasiter; Groveton Lady Indians Laken Arnold and Ashley Rumley; and Latexo Lady Tigers Sydnee Craven and Jamie Welch.

The Messenger would like to extend its congratulations to all the young ladies on the list for a very enjoyable 2018-2019 basketball season and for a job well done.

Will Johnson may be reached via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.