Home Sports TGCA All-State / THSBC All-Tournament Teams Announced

TGCA All-State / THSBC All-Tournament Teams Announced

Cierra Simon

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – The Texas Girls Coaches Association (TGCA) and the Texas High School Baseball Coaches Association (THSBCA) have released their selections for several postseason awards.

Cadie Belle Currie

At the conclusion of the UIL State Baseball Championship Tournaments, the THSBCA released its All-Tournament teams and the Class 1A State Champion Slocum Mustangs were well-represented with five players chosen to the squad.

Slocum’s Austin Sarraf was chosen as the Class 1A Tournament’s MVP. He was on the All-Tournament team by teammates: Taylor Hunt at pitcher; Randy Guess at second base; Joseph Byrnes in the outfield; and Ben Haney, also in the outfield.

Austin Sarraf

Other members of the All-Tournament team included: Fayetteville’s Damon Gerick at catcher; New Home’s Keagen Grantham at first base; Fayetteville’s Cole Mau at third base; Abbott’s Hunter Pope at shortstop; Fayetteville’s Braden Rohde in the outfield; and Fayetteville’s Jacob Schley as the utility


On Friday of last week, the TGCA released its All-State team and it had a distinct local flavor as two Grapeland Sandiettes were chosen at the Class 2A level while six Slocum Lady Mustangs were chosen at the Class 1A level.

The Sandiettes were represented on the Class 2A All-State team by Cadie Belle Currie in the pitcher’s circle and Cierra Simon at shortstop. The Sandiettes finished their season tied for fifth place in the final TGCA poll.

At the 1A level, All-State honors were bestowed upon: Taylor Clark at third base; Briley E

Briley Evers

vers at catcher; Jalyn Fletcher at pitcher; Jessi Ives at shortstop; Courtney January at second base; and Laney Lasiter in the outfield.

On Monday, June 11 the THSBCA released their All-State teams which featured a pair of players from the Class 1A State Champion Slocum Mustangs.

Taylor Hunt was selected as a Third Team All-State pitcher while Austin Sarraf was selected as a Third Team All-State third baseman.

Cayuga’s Andrew Mitchell was also selected as a Third Team All-State outfielder.

Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com