By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – Following Slocum’s loss in the Regional Finals, the 2017 21-AA All-District Team was released with the post season accolades showing a strong presence from the Lovelady Lions and Grapeland Sandies.

Hunter Murray was selected as the District’s Most Valuable Player as the senior helped lead the Lovelady Lions to an undefeated District 21-AA season and into the Regional Quarterfinals.

Ackley – Offensive Player of the Year

The Offensive and Defensive Players of the year were both from the infield of the Grapeland Sandies’ baseball team. Senior Dustin Ackley was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year while senior teammate Riley Chipman was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year.

A freshman from the Centerville Tigers – Jacob Cannon – was selected as the District 21-AA Newcomer of the Year.

The First Team All-District pitchers were: Hunter Free – Centerville; Josh Ackley – Grapeland; and Taylor Hunt – Slocum.

The First Team All-District catcher was Lovelady Lion Alex McKnight.

The First Team All-District first baseman was Lovelady Lion Blake Johnson.

The First Team All-District infielders were: Lee Holsey- Lovelady; Chad Fulgham – Lovelady; Cobey Powell – Normangee; Garret Wager – Centerville; and Colton Peters – Slocum.

The First Team All-District outfielders were: Brett Huester – Lovelady; Taylor Womack – Lovelady; and Ryan Pate – Normangee.

The First Team All-District utility players were Grapeland Sandie Parker Wilson and Slocum Mustang Joseph Byrnes.

The Second Team All-District pitchers were: Slade Smith – Lovelady; Cade Bashears – Centerville; Michael Harris – North Zulch; and Quinshaun Mays – Normangee.

Chipman – Defensive Player of the Year

The Second Team All-District catcher was Colton Adams from the Centerville Tigers.

The Second Team All-District first baseman was Logan Cummings from the Centerville Tigers.

The Second Team All-District infielders were: Evan Pate – Normangee; Mikey Rojas – Centerville; Case Boyd – Grapeland; and Trey Crocker – North Zulch.

The Second Team All-District outfielders were: Logan Lowery – Lovelady; Tanner Prasatik – Grapeland; and Dillion Pate – Centerville.

The Second Team All-District infielders were Lovelady Lion Jay Robinson and Slocum Mustang Dustin Fletcher.

The Honorable Mention selections were: Tanner Smoldas – Centerville; Abraham Sanches – Centerville; Rick Frauenberger – Grapeland; Blake Howard – Grapeland; Dylan Hoffman – Normangee; Chase Smith – Normangee; Kyle Gorman – Slocum; Andrew Abernathy – Slocum; Ryan Housley – North Zulch; and Cole Weaver – North Zulch.

Will Johnson may be contacted via e-mail at