By Will Johnson

Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – With the Newton Eagles 14-7 loss to the Arp Tigers in the Regional Finals last week, all the teams from District 10-3A are now out of the playoffs.

The Garrison Bulldogs and the Corrigan-Camden Bulldogs both fell in the first round of the playoffs. The Dawgs lost a 35-32 heartbreaker in the Regional Semifinals to the Arp Tigers on a field goal with no time remaining on the clock.

The Newton Eagles, ranked #1 Class 3A DII, fell to Arp last week in the Regional Finals. As a result, the All-District teams from District 10-3A DII were released.

The Dawgs were well represented in the All-District selections as they had two superlative honorees, nine first team offensive and nine first team defensive selections honorees, three second team offensive and three second team defensive selections, and five honorable mention selections.     

The superlative award winners for District 10-3A DII were:

  • Co-Most Valuable Players: Tamauzia Brown, Newton, So.; Lucky Daniels, Crockett, Sr.
  • Offensive MVP: Brock Barbay, Newton, Sr.
  • Tri-Defensive MVPs: Ahmad Brown, Crockett, Jr.; Corbin Foster, Newton, Jr.; Deviun Kenebrew, Newton, Sr.
  • Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Jakelen Tutt, Garrison, Jr.
  • Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Josh Foster, Newton, So.
  • Coach of the Year:T. Johnston, Newton

The First Team Offensive selections were:

Quarterback: B.J. Anderson Crockett, Sr.

Running Backs: Xavion Dixon, Crockett, Sr.; J.D. Spikes, Newton, Sr.; Jaylon Williams, Corrigan-Camden, Sr.

Centers: Houston Arledge, Crockett, Sr.; Dylan Lynch, Newton, Sr.

Guards: Javon Colter, Crockett, Sr.; Alex Cuevas, Corrigan-Camden, Jr.; Cameron Stewart, Newton, Sr.; Tyler Strawn, Garrison, Sr.

Tackles: John Kalafatis, Newton, Sr.; Byrd Purvis, Corrigan-Camden, Sr.; Tim Riley, Crockett, Sr.

Tight Ends: lucky-and-ahmad-on-defenseJa’Kobie Hodge, Garrison, Sr.

Receivers: Keondrick Collins, Garrison, Jr.; Kirkland Foster, Newton, Sr.; Latavion Jones, Crockett, Sr.; A.J. Owens, Crockett, So.; Derrick Sherman, Crockett, Jr.

Kickers: Ricardo Ramirez, Crockett, Sr.; D.J. Seastrunk, Newton, Sr.

The First Team Defensive selections were:

Nose Guards: Dae’Javon Bibbs, Crockett, So.; Chris Conner, Newton, Sr.

Defensive Tackles: Tajhwan Denson, Newton, Sr.; Ty Seastrunk, Newton, Jr.; Anthony Yates, Crockett, Sr.

Defensive Ends: Chris Edwards, Garrison, Sr.; Lonzo Rodgers, Crockett, Sr.; Bryson Thomas, Newton, Jr.

Inside Linebackers: Jace Lowe, Hemphill, Sr.; Dekeidrian Rollins, Crockett, Sr.

Outside Linebackers: Latavion Jones, Crockett, Jr.; Blake Kelley, Newton, Sr.; Reginald Lockhart, Crockett, Jr.

Safeties: Ma’Kedric Collins, Garrison, Jr.; Derrick Sherman, Crockett, Jr.; Jaylon Williams, Corrigan-Camden, Sr.

Cornerbacks: Keondric Collins, Garrison, Jr.; Demarcus Richardson, Crockett, So.; D.J. Seastrunk, Newton, Sr.

Punters: B.J. Anderson, Crockett, Sr.; Zack Ivie, Corrigan-Camden, So.

The Second Team Offensive selections were:

Quarterback: Garret Bean, Frankston, So.; Ty Love, Corrigan-Camden, Jr.

Running Backs: Darwin Barlow, Newton, So.; Dementre Howard, Corrigan-Camden, Sr.; Boogie Krajca, Frankston, So.; Kwame Smith, Hemphill, Sr.

Centers: Jake Smith, Frankston, Jr.; Kyle Vance, Corrigan-Camden, Jr.

Guards: Joseph Atwell, Crockett, Sr.; Austin Piazza, Garrison, Sr.; Josh Porter, Frankston, Jr.; Hugo Sanchez, Corrigan-Camden, Jr.; Caiden Walker, Newton, So.

Tackles: Thomas Casper, Corrigan-Camden, Sr.; Jonathan Ezidor, Newton, Sr.; Harvey Stewart, Crockett, Sr.

Tight Ends: Tyreke Forman, Corrigan-Camden, Sr.; Caleb Sumeral, Newton, Sr.

Receivers: Demarcus Richardson, Crockett, So.; Dewayne Washington, Garrison, Jr.; Noah Williams, Newton, Jr.

Kicker: Zack Ivie, Corrigan-Camden, So.

The Second Team Defensive Selections were:

Nose Guard: Josh Porter, Frankston, Jr.

Defensive Tackles: Darren Lowe, Hemphill, Sr.; Hugo Sanchez, Corrigan-Camden, Jr.; Evander Williams, Newton, Jr.

Defensive Ends: Trenshun Dixon, Crockett, Sr.; Jadrian McGraw, Newton, So.; Alex Vance, Corrigan-Camden, Jr.

Inside Linebackers: Hector Castro, Corrigan-Camden, Sr.; Drew Lewis, Frankston, Jr.; Chris Shepherd, Garrison, Jr.

Outside Linebackers: Luis Cruz, Newton, Sr.; Dewayne Washington, Garrison, Jr.

Safeties: Trey Ellison, Hemphill, Jr.; Jordan Pace, Frankston, Jr.

Cornerbacks: Shannon Harris, Crockett, Sr.; A.J. Owens, Crockett, So.; Ahren Turner, Hemphill, Jr.

Punter: Connor Phillips, Hemphill, Sr.

The Honorable Mention Selections for Crockett were Dralin Bryant and Drew Corry on the offensive side of the ball as well as Tyrese Anderson, Tyler Elmore and J.P. O’Neal on the defensive side of the ball.

Will Johnson may be reached via e-mail at